Presentation Night – Fri 17 Mar 23
We are nearly there, the Christmas break has come and gone and the last monthly meeting just needs the minutes written. The Presentation Night is being planned and the finals are in the future.
Time, we think for some light hearted thinking, …. maybe …. about obscurities.
How many ways can a batter be out?
A simple question which we should all get (no looking up the MMC Law Book), but let’s put a nice twist to it. Of the number of ways, who has given them all out during their careers?
I’ll start, I have not given a batter out in three of the ways possible. Can you make an educated guess as to what they may be? 😊
Let us know how you have fared and if you have given out one of the more obscure ways, tell us the story around it.
How many situations can a no ball be called (MCC Laws of Cricket)?
Again, who has called them all?
I was musing about this after I called a back foot no ball for the first time a couple of weekends ago. In a junior’s game the RH bowler decided to go around the wicket and on his first ball, I noticed him get close to the Return Crease with his rear foot and I gave myself a mental note to really keep an eye out for it.
Next ball, his right foot was fully grounded a good 10 centimetres outside the Return Crease. It felt good calling it knowing that I saw it, knew what I was looking for and getting it right.
A game of subtleties
During our training session at the Feb monthly meeting, we delved into some of the obscure laws of the game and the subtleties between them. I am thinking about who is out obstructing the field if it is a no ball as compared to who is out if it was a fair ball. I really enjoyed the discussion and learnt something with Bob’s explanation on how to determine the right ruling.
Tell us about your experiences with the obscure/subtle parts of the game.
Asking questions leads to better understanding
I had a call from Peter Larter who queried a decision he and John Salter made on the first day of their recent game (Mudgeeraba v Runaway Bay at Corbwood 1). It revolved around General Playing Conditions 12.2 Fixture Matches – Over Rates A & B.
Following our discussion, we both agreed that Peter and John got it spot on, though we recognised that there was an ambiguity that can be tightened. As Bob mentioned at the Feb Monthly meeting, Cricket Gold Coast are going to sit down with our Association, well before next season and go through the Playing Conditions.
We ask that if you believe that there are other ambiguities or errors in the Playing Conditions let us know so we can look at them.
Peter’s musings
While chatting, Peter mentioned a couple of things he does, which I thought were worth passing on.
Hydration. As part of his pre-match preparation, he drinks up to a litre of water in the two hours before play starts.
Getting into the Zone. To get himself into the ‘zone’ for each ball, he gently taps his hand. Simple, subtle but it works for Peter. How do you get in the ‘zone’?
Run outs. We then began to reflect on the lessons learnt from our recent General Meeting regarding obstructing the field and we went through a few scenarios.
Peter then asked this what if. The bowler in their delivery stride, by complete mistake, strikes the wicket with the hand holding the ball. The umpire calls No Ball but then notices that the non-striker was out of their crease. On appeal, is the non-striker out or not out?
We went through the scenario and quickly dismissed as a red herring the fact that the breaking of the wicket was accidental as the intent is irrelevant and that there had been an appeal. We then talked through the definition of when is the wicket broken (Law 29). We agreed that the wicket was broken fairly which led us to the more important question of where was the bowler’s arm prior to breaking the wicket? Had the bowler’s arm reached the highest point of their normal bowling action in the delivery swing? This is the new run out provision which is replicated below.
38.3.1 At any time from the moment the ball comes into play until the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the non-striker is liable to be Run out if he/she is out of his/her ground. In these circumstances the non-striker will be out Run out if he/she is out of his/her ground when his/her wicket is broken by the bowler throwing the ball at the stumps or by the bowler’s hand holding the ball, whether or not the ball is subsequently delivered.
38.3.1.1 The instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball is defined as the moment the bowler’s arm reaches the highest point of his/her normal bowling action in the delivery swing.
If the bowler’s arm had NOT reached the highest point of their normal bowling action, then yes, it is out; but if it had, then not out. A good practice would be to consult with your colleague to get their view of it.
I think we then got a bit silly and went off track and down a rabbit hole regarding no balls and runouts. We ended up imagining the following scenario. Bear with us and if you need to suspend reality, please do so 😊.
The bowler on approaching the wicket, manages to kick the stumps before delivering the ball knocking one bail off. Immediately following, they bring their arm down, before it has reached the perpendicular and with the ball in hand, knocks the other bail off. You notice that the non-striker was out of their ground. On appeal, what’s your decision, explain your thought process and in what order did you call/signal?
We had fun talking it through 😊
QCUSA teachings
Bob has sent through the attachments from QCUSA, which are a good read. Serendipitous to Peter’s insight to how he hydrates before a game, the attachment that deals with this very thing is interesting .
I have been banging on for a little while now about those one percenters and how the better umpires are always looking to do things better. The article on Umpire Field craft talks about these very things and I learnt a couple of things. It took me a little while to appreciate that SE meant Striker’s End and BE meant Batter’s End. If anyone can tell me what GWL means, please let me know 😊
What’s a boundary?
Bob passed on a good question by Troy Schramm, who explained that he was unsure what to do at a recent game when he arrived at St Stevens and saw that rugby posts had appeared within the cricket field boundary.
In general terms, there are the following possibilities:
Cheltenham Oval. Those who have umpired at Cheltenham Oval, will know that there are powerlines crossing the ground. To highlight the point about walking the ground, it is recommended that you discuss the powerlines with the Captains at your pre-game chat and get agreement that if struck, the ball becomes dead (or not) and is re-bowled (or not). It may never happen, but you will know what to do if it does happen and you won’t be caught out.
Code of Conduct
One of our newer umpires recently Yellow Carded a player in a junior’s game and then sought guidance from the Training Committee on the way ahead. Firstly, kudos to the member for asking. It also raised the question of can a Yellow Card be withdrawn or must it be followed through with a report.
The Training Committee pondered this one and were happy that in this situation, the Yellow Card will not be followed through as it was a Junior’s Game and the member further and better addressed the issue with the player and his coach.
For a senior’s game, Bob and I believe that if a Yellow Card is issued, it has to be followed up by a report.
As a generalisation, we encourage everyone to think of other options to achieve the desired result before proceeding to a yellow card. The value of referring the issue to the captain and asking them to fix the problem cannot be understated. Explaining to the captain if the problem continues, they too will be ‘in the frame.
Let’s look at the yellow card as a ‘last resort’ option, as has been mentioned on prior occasions.
BUT if a yellow or red card needs to be the first option so, be it. Be firm and remember you don’t have to take stick from anyone 😊.
When do you click your counter? We all develop our own timing as to when we click the counter to show that the ball has been bowled; but we remind everyone to wait until the ball is dead and all is quiet before we click it. Nothing worse than going too quickly and with your eyes down you miss something. Mea culpa I have done it and kicked myself when I realised what I missed.
Who are you?
This issue’s ‘Who are you?’ features a new umpire to our Association, Ian Fischer. Enjoy Ian’s journey in cricket.
Green Valley , South West Sydney . u/10’s 1971
Availability
As Michael mentioned at the last monthly meeting, we are heading into a busy congested period with various finals coming up. We ask that you keep your availability up to date.
Presentation Night
This year’s Presentation Night is on Fri 17 Mar at the Nerang RSL. To help with catering, we ask, that when called for, you have the courtesy of giving a RSVP and not just turn up!
Answers.
It has been suggested that the answers should be put at the end, so you can immediately check how you are travelling. We will give it a go, so let us know if this works for you.
How many ways out are there (MCC Laws of Cricket)?
Nine and in case you got it wrong:
I haven’t given any one out, Hit the ball twice, Timed Out or Obstructing the field.
During the vetting process of the Musings, it was pointed out to me that there is actually a tenth way of getting out. It is a unique way which does not require an appeal or an umpire’s decision, but it is an out.
Can anyone tell me what it is? Answer in the next edition 😊
How many situations can a no ball be called (MCC Laws of Cricket)?
Yeah, I looked up the MCC Laws of Cricket to get the references … 😊 What I did find very interesting was Law 41.8 and it is worth a read.
Have I missed any? Please let me know if I have 😊
Peter and Leigh’s silly scenario.
Once we thought about it, we realised that it is out, run out (38.3.1 & 38.3.1.1) as discussed above; however, the sequence of signals would be, No ball and then out.
Our thinking is the No ball (Law 21.6) came first and then the out.
We spoke about Law 2.13.2 which states:
2.13.2 The umpire shall wait until each signal to the scorers has been separately acknowledged by a scorer before allowing play to proceed.
If several signals are to be used, they SHALL be given in the order that the events occurred.
Comment: As an aside I think that the word SHALL in capitals is the only time that a word has been so emphasised, as such, they are really trying to tell us something.
Yours in umpiring and may all your snicks be loud 😊
Your Training and Selections Committees,
Bob Myatt, Pat Carty, Michael Guy and Leigh Buckingham