Neutral Umpires and perceptions
Michael Guy found this article interesting from the statistical analysis on whether we need neutral umpires now that DRS is the norm.
https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/kartikeya-date-do-we-really-need-neutral-umpires-anymore-1293245
What was also interesting were the quotes from former ICC Elite umpire Simon Taufel when asked in 2012 by the podcaster Subash Jayaraman why neutrality was required if Test umpires were chosen from the Elite Panel. In replying, Simon also spoke about perception:
“~ the perception of neutrality is just as important as the factual reality of neutrality. “[I]f people perceive that an umpire is a poor communicator or a poor decision-maker, regardless of the facts, he is.”
So how do we create a good perception? Here are a few things that you can do, regardless of the level you umpire:
Nothing new here, so take heart that if you are doing these things; you can be confident that the perception the players have of you are positive.
Answer to Pat Carty’s teaser
While this was answered at our last monthly meeting, we have included it here in case you weren’t able to attend.
You will recall that in the last issue of ‘The Musings’, Pat set us the following teaser,
‘What is the only situation where the fielding team can change the field following a free hit being awarded? The kicker is that the original batter is still on strike.’
The first to answer this teaser was our President, Bob Myatt who correctly stated,
‘If the no ball is for a fielding restriction, with the same batsman on strike, the field will be changed to avoid another no ball being called. If the field were not to be changed the no ball/ free hit would continue on and on.’
Bob even provided the reference,
ICC Mens Standard ODI P.C’s, Page 32, 21.19 Free Hit –
21.19.3.2……”The no ball was the result of a fielding restriction breach, in which case the
field may be changed to the extent of correcting the breach.”
A simple example would be Square Leg calling No ball for more than two fielders behind Square. Unless the field was changed, this breach and No ball would just continue.
Bob also referred to Law 43 albeit written in invisible ink Another teaser for you
This teaser recently happened to John Mathes in a 4th Grade game. What would you have done?
A ball from a fast bowler went for byes & the fielders (no fine leg or third man) were slow to react to chasing the ball, with one of the slips deciding it was him or no one!! And it was a very long boundary.
The batsmen ran 4 runs & turned for the 5th run.
The fielder then chose to kick the ball over the boundary. John tells us that he expected that the fielder didn’t know the Law in this instance as he heard another fielder commenting that it was smart fielding as it looked like the batsmen could run 6!
Then the fun part started. John signalled as required & they acknowledged him, but John said that he expected they didn’t get it right.
On checking the scorebook after the game John noted they’d recorded 9 byes.
What do you think the score should have been and please cite your references and reasoning?
A rarity and we can tell you it had the Training Committee reaching for the Laws of Cricket and even the Tom Smith
Reaccreditation
Colin Eadie has asked a good question about his attempts to get reaccredited and the issues he was having. We have been advised by Richard Patterson, Umpire Education Manager, CA that they are having significant IT issues with the reaccreditation process. Sometimes it works for people, most times it doesn’t.
Richard’s advice to Associations is to ignore his computer-generated emails regarding the extra work to be done to be reaccredited and that CA is deeming you reaccredited until their new system comes on line, with the hope that all the data is transferred.
So bottom line, just hold tight
Yours in umpiring and may all your snicks be loud
Your Training and Selections Committees
Pat Carty, Michael Guy and Leigh Buckingham