Answer to John Mathes’ teaser
It was great to see that at least five members put forward their answer, which shows that you are enjoying stretching your minds and doing some reading of the Blue Book.
The first to answer this teaser was our Treasurer, Sam Goswami who correctly stated,
‘Law 19 (Boundaries) says that, if the boundary results from a wilful act of a fielder, not only will the boundary be scored, but so will any other runs completed by the batsmen together with the run in progress at the time of the act if they have crossed. So, in the case described below, 4 runs would be scored and the batsman would not be returned to their original ends. The fielding side would have conceded an extra 4 runs with no benefit to themselves. If the batsmen crossed then it’s 5 runs plus Boundary.’
We then loved what Sam wrote next, being, ‘Silly players.’ We think this sums it up well
So, to clarify, the score would be eight byes made up of the four runs ran and the boundary allowance of four. In the scenario, the batters had only turned after making their fourth run and as such had not crossed at the moment of the wilful act.
What was very interesting was the discussion as to whether penalty runs should have been also applied. Law 19.8. Overthrow or wilful act of fielder tells us that; the runs scored could include any penalties awarded to either side; but what penalty would apply here?
We know that if a player illegally fields the ball, the Umpire can award five penalty runs to the batting team as per 28.2.3, but we must understand what is an illegal piece of fielding.
28.2.1 Fielding the ball sets out three occasions when the fielder is deemed to have illegally fielded the ball; being:
‘~ if, while the ball is in play he/she wilfully
28.2.1.1 uses anything other than part of his/her person to field the ball.
28.2.1.2 extends his/her clothing with his/her hands and uses this to field the ball.
28.2.1.3 discards a piece of clothing, equipment or any other object which subsequently makes contact with the ball.’
As we can see, in John Mathes’ scenario, the ball has not been illegally fielded, therefore no penalty applies.
But we hear you yell, surely it is an Unfair action and under Law 41.2.1 the umpire can award five penalty runs. No, in this instance they cannot for the following reasons:
A little side-bar to the Training Committee’s discussions as we worked through this scenario, was the question as to whether it has to be the same unfair action to bring the provisions of 41.2.1. into play OR could the second offence be a different one to the first.
41.2.1.2 says, ‘If this is a second or subsequent offence by that side ~’; but does not expressly state of a similar or same nature.
This is where we headed to Tom Smith which discusses 41.2.1 at page 348 and uses the phrase, ‘Notice that if the players are so misguided as to repeat the offence after warnings have been given ~’
This is good enough for us to say that the offences must be the same.
No ball free hit – Extension question
Pat Carty posed this extension question to whether a field can be changed if a free hit from a No ball sees the original batter still on strike. In this circumstance, can the wicket keeper who was standing up to the wicket, move back as if they were to receive a medium or quick ball? We will let you ponder that one.
A hint … have a read of page 32, 21.19 Free Hit of the ICC Playing Conditions for ODI. The link is https://resources.pulse.icc-cricket.com/ICC/document/2021/06/08/0bf2b097-a4f9-45b2-987d-ffdb8acf517c/ICC-Men-s-Standard-ODI-Playing-Conditions-May-2021.pdf
Again, send Leigh your answers.
Michael Guy found these and thought that we could all do with a chuckle
Duckworth Lewis Stern
At the last monthly meeting, we spoke about Duckworth Lewis Stern (DLS) and there was some talk about which version to use. Here are some points about DLS:
David Warner – Hitting a 6 off Pakistan’s Mohammad Hafeez’s No ball – ICC 2021 T20 World Cup
You may be aware of the controversy that followed David Warner hitting a 6 off a ball from Mohammad Hafeez that bounced twice. Give us your thoughts as to the legality (not a Spirit of Cricket answer) of Warner’s actions.
FYI, the Playing Conditions for the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup are the same as the Laws of Cricket in this circumstance, so just cite the latter in your answer.
Would your answer change if the ball had come to a complete stop before reaching Warner? Justify your answer.
Have a think about this one. You are one of two umpires appointed to a One Day game in 2nd Grade. As it has been a while since you umpired two up and as part of your pre-match process, you start going through the role of Square Leg Umpire.
Taking into account, the Laws of Cricket, Cricket Gold Coast Playing Conditions and field craft, how many separate things must you do, should you do and could you do as Square Leg?
NB: We are specifically looking for Square Leg Umpire duties, i.e., what must, should, could the Square Leg Umpire do as an individual and not as the umpires together.
As a starter, here are a few, to give you a feel of what we are looking for:
The Training Committee came up with an additional 60. How many did you get? As you can see, you must be on your game while at Square Leg.
Send your list to the Training Committee.
Who are you?
This issue we highlight our Patron, ‘The Ox’, Bruce Oxenford.
During a Test Match in Colombo Sri Lanka v England at P Sara field, play was held up for about 10 minutes when a stray dog made its way onto the field. It made a lap of the outfield, then much to everyone’s amusement, squatted and unloaded a huge dairy
whip at mid-wicket. The ground staff were unimpressed that we wouldn’t resume play until was the dog and it’s calling card were removed.
Final question
Why is the Popping crease so named?
Yours in umpiring and may all your snicks be loud
Your Training and Selections Committees Pat Carty, Michael Guy and Leigh Buckingham